The End Records

Eklipse – Electric Air


Intoxicating string compositions made of soul, love, the night and pain – melodies that sound as though they have been amplified through a glassy filter a thousand times and reduced to their essence. That is how the four dazzling musicians that make up Eklipse were able to become immediately established in the music scene with their 2012 début A NIGHT IN STRINGS.

Their fascinating new arrangements and interpretations of worldwide hits discovered previously hidden depths and brought new levels to light – music that goes through you, injures, heals and immediately casts a spell on you. Eklipse creates a virtuoso interplay of form and fantasy, a new formulation that rewrites the rules, which comes from the heart and demands surrender.

ELECTRIC AIR is the new, second studio album from Miss E., Scarlett, Viola and Helena. As with A NIGHT IN STRINGS, ELECTRIC AIR is fully instrumental – no voices are needed as Eklipse’s violins, viola and cello speak volumes. The quartet remains silent whenever possible, to ensure that nothing distracts from the power of their music. That makes the four classically trained women, who are in their early twenties, even more mysterious, and even more indescribable. The passions, secrets and desires that are hidden behind their masks remain in the shadows.

Eklipse cannot be rushed in their virtuoso renditions; they surrender completely to their dreamy contemplations, dig deeply into the source of their inspiration, resulting in mysteriously symbiotic sounds from the recording studio. On ELECTRIC AIR, the chemistry between the four musicians immediately submerges listeners in the confused melancholy of those first hopeless tears, before raising them up to the electrifying heights of passion, ecstasy and unrestrained emotion.

With their second studio album, Eklipse reveal the full spectrum of their musical abilities, constantly crossing the limits of styles and genres. Sometimes they are shrouded in deep sadness, like when they play Nick Cave & Kylie Minogue’s “Where The Wild Roses Grow”. At other times, they are triumphant and full of beautiful emotion, such as in their versions of “Titanium” by David Guetta or “I Follow Rivers” by Lykke Li. The four musicians instantly transform classics such as “Teardrops” by Massive Attack, “Set Fire To The Rain” by Adele or “Rock The Casbah” by The Clash with their fascinatingly lively arrangements.

But a completely different side to the four lovers of beauty reveals itself on ELECTRIC AIR in the selection of “Assassin’s Creed”, the eponymous theme tune of the successful action adventure game. Many people are unaware that the four musicians are also passionate gamers and have been under the playful spell of the Assassin’s Creed saga since the earliest days of this fascinating parallel world.

No matter what direction the individual songs take, their signature remains unmistakable. And it is the interplay of high culture, ambition and pop that makes Eklipse a unique musical phenomenon in 2013 – plus the four virtuosos don’t just dazzle in the studio. When Miss E., Scarlett, Viola and Helena step on stage, the electric atmosphere sends sparks through their instruments and into the hearts of their audience. In 2012, Eklipse showed just how far this effect will take them when they accompanied Nightwish on their European tour and charmed one sold-out venue after another with their magical sound.

After the release of ELECTRIC AIR the stage is set to become even bigger for them – and when the four musicians join Kamelot on their American tour, they are sure to take audiences on the other side of the Atlantic by storm. There is no bigger audience. And the cooperation between the two groups is far from superficial, they are deeply connected in their musical direction – the four young ladies and their instruments are also featured on three tracks from Kamelot’s new album SILVERTHORN, including “Sacrimony” and “My Confession”. Eklipse are also prominently featured in the American band’s newest music video.

iTunes iTunes


Release Details

Release:Electric Air
Release Date:09/03/2013
Track-listing:01. Titanium (orig. by David Guetta Feat. Sia)
02. Teardrop (orig. by Massive Attack)
03. I Follow Rivers (orig. by Lykke Li)
04. Where The Wild Roses Grow (orig. by Nick Cave Feat. Kylie Minogue)
05. Assassin’s Creed (Original Game Soundtrack)
06. Set Fire To The Rain (orig. by Adele)
07. Supermassive Black Hole (orig. by Muse)
08. We Are The People (orig by. Empire Of The Sun)
09. Until The End Of The World (orig. by Apoptygma Berzerk)
10. Shake It Out (orig. by Florence and the Machine)
11. Rock The Casbah (orig. by The Clash)
12. Ode An Die Freude / Ode To Joy
Format:CD, Digital
Record Label:The End Records