The End Records

Davidge – Slo Light


7Hz Productions & The End Records proudly present ‘Slo Light’, the stunning debut album by Davidge, AKA award-winning producer/musician Neil Davidge, renowned previously for his production, co-writing and sonic-sculpting of music for Massive Attack, David Bowie,Snoop Dog, Damon Albarn, Primal Scream, Elizabeth Fraser and Mos Def, plus the hugely successful Halo 4game score and soundtrack.

An album deeply-schooled in Bristol beats, electronica, soundtracks, orchestral music and more, ‘Slo Light’ creates a fantasy world in which tension, darkness and beauty find the perfect equilibrium. The album is sky-high on production value, with an unparalleled clarity and sonic depth typical of Davidge’s unique sound.

Launching the album’s epic journey is title-track ‘Slo Light’, which features vocals from the Davidge-discovered New York singer Stephonik Youth, and clearly demonstrates Neil’s stamp on latter Massive Attack albums. The video trailer was directed and shot by Gustavo Andrade for China Dolls Films and was co-directed and starred-in by singer and collaborator, Stephonik Youth (whose band Living Days are signed to Dave Sitek’s label Federal Prism).

The album was written by Davidge with contributions from his studio right-hand-man Andrew Morgan, in collaboration with the guest vocalists. The pair played most of the instrumental parts themselves, with strings from The Bristol Ensemble.

Designed by Stephen Kitchen, the ‘Slo Light’ album inner sleeves features geometric shapes that are individual aesthetic interpretations of each track, and the cover art is a phosphorescent design of a similar nature. The album will be released in the following formats:

–    11 track Digipak
–    Itunes exclusive version
–    Double coloured heavyweight 12” vinyl with exclusive tracks, special bundle DJ slip mat and poster and further exclusive remixes from Rob Smith (Smith & Mighty), US based Quadrant, Kid Hops and Iris and German-based Michael Mortlock

Following years of industry respect and renown, ‘Slo Light’ is primed to be the record that brings Davidge to the ears and minds of many discerning music lovers, as a figure of talent and vision, who’ll appeal to fans of sound-exploring producer/artists like Brian Eno, Trent Reznor, Moby and William Orbit.

iTunes iTunes


Release Details

Release:Slo Light
Release Date:02/25/2014
Track-listing:01. Slo Light featuring Stephonik Youth
02. Gallant Foxes featuring Cate Le Bon
03. How Was Your Day featuring Karima Francis
04. Home From Home featuring Low Roar
05. They Won’t Know featuring Stephonik Youth
06. That Fever featuring Claire Tchaikowski
07. Riot Pictures featuring Sandie Shaw
08. Zero One Zero featuring Stephonik Youth
09. Sleepwalking featuring Emi Green
10. Anyone Laughing featuring Claire Tchaikowski
11. Discovering The Universe That Fever ANHM version (bonus track)
12. Hummingbird featuring Patrick Duff (iTunes exclusive bonus track)
13. Sensor featuring Jhelisa Anderson (Digipak bonus track)
14. Forty Days In The Wilderness featuring Patrick Duff (12" Vinyl bonus track)
15. Slo Light Davidge vs Rob Smith's Lovas Remix (12" Vinyl bonus track
16. Sensor Davidge vs Quadrant, Kid Hops & Iris Remix (12" Vinyl bonus track)
17. Sleepwalking Davidge vs Michael Mortlock Remix (12" Vinyl bonus track)
18. Hummingbird Instrumental (12" Vinyl bonus track)
Format:CD, 2LP Gatefold
Record Label:The End Records
UPC:654436033820, 654436033813