•  Navigation
  • KELE OKEREKE Releases Groundbreaking New Duet Feat. OLLY ALEXANDER




    FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE New York, NY (August 3, 2017) - Kele Okereke has released his new song "Grounds For Resentment," which features Years & Years' Olly Alexander and is available today for download and streaming. The lilting, soulful duet sees Kele and Olly singing about a romance from two different perspectives and is the third song to be lifted from his forthcoming album Fatherland, out October 6 via BMG.

    Kele Okereke - Grounds For Resentment (feat. Olly Alexander) 


    In a recent webchat for The Guardian, Kele spoke of the song, saying: "I remember reading something that wrote about the use of pronouns in pop music for gay artists that I thought that was very perceptive and intelligent - that the use of pronouns was the last frontier for gay artists. There are lots of gay acts that avoid using the term he when singing about same sex desire. It will just be a neutral term, whereas Olly understands from what I read that there is a long way to go for gay musicians in being able to describe love and desire authentically. So I was very happy to sing a romantic duet with him on my album, because I couldn't think of a precedent of any out gay musicians singing a love song to one another without having to hide behind codes."
    For his third solo album Fatherland, Kele has stripped away the adrenalized electronics of his two previous records to produce his most open and honest body of work to date. From intimate folk to rousing soul, Fatherland's organic palette and more classic instrumentation helps the depth of his lyrics to truly come to life. Typically pointed and personal, the album was written as Kele squared up the prospect of fatherhood - his daughter Savannah was born in December 2016 - and was produced by Bloc Party bassist Justin Harris in Portland, Oregon with expert musicians largely drawn from Portland's underground music scene.  


    01. Overture
    02. Streets Been Talkin'
    03. You Keep On Whispering His Name
    04. Capers
    05. Grounds For Resentment (feat. Olly Alexander)
    06. Yemaya
    07. Do U Right 
    08. Versions Of Us (feat. Corinne Bailey Rae)
    09. Portrait
    10. Road To Ibadan 
    11. Savannah
    12. The New Year Party
    13. Royal Reign 

    Album Pre-Order

    Fatherland presents a facet of Kele we haven't heard before - the singer/songwriter. Embracing a much more organic – even classic – sonic palette, the album straddles delicate folk ("Streets Been Talkin'"), sumptuous soul ("Do U Right"), and insidious, dub reggae-meets-Weimar cabaret ("You Keep On Whispering His Name"). It also features the breahtaking "Yemaya," released earlier this year, and produced by Bloc Party-bassist Justin Harris in Portland, Oregon with expert musicians largely drawn from Portland’s underground music scene.

    “I was listening a lot to Elliott Smith’s Either/OrPink Moon by Nick Drake, Blue by Joni Mitchell, and the Al Green album, Still in Love With You,” says Kele. “Writing these songs and expressing these words and feelings, it’s something that’s vital for me. I’m recognising I’m entering into a different part of my life."

    He explains further: “I’m fully conscious that this record is probably going to serve as a document for Savannah of the relationship between her fathers and who we were before she came into our lives. It feels important for her to see that we don’t have all the answers but we’re trying.”

    For more information on Kele Okereke:
    Official Website