The End Records


him1 credits by Joonas Brandt
HIM are a Finnish rock band from Helsinki. Formed in 1991 by vocalist Ville Valo, guitarist Mikko “Linde” Lindström, and bassist Mikko “Migé”


Paananen, HIM’s current lineup consists of Valo, Linde, Migé, Janne “Burton” Puurtinen on keyboards and Mika Karppinen on drums.


The band released their first full-length studio album, Greatest Love Songs Vol. 666 in 1997 and its second album in 1999, titled Razorblade Romance.
This is when the band’s popularity began to rise, their single “Join Me in Death” from the album reached #1 on the German music charts, selling over 800,000 of this single.


Razorblade Romance and Deep Shadows and Brilliant Highlights in 2002 were followed by Love Metal in 2003.
A series of compilations followed including And Love Said No: Greatest Hits 1997-2004, two discs of rarities titled Uneasy Listening, Vol. 1 and Uneasy Listening, Vol. 2. Followed by Dark Light (2005) and Venus Doom (2007). In September 2006, Dark Light was certified gold by the RIAA, making HIM the first Finnish band to have a gold album in the United States.
HIM had five of their studio albums certified platinum in Finland with Razorblade Romance being certified double platinum in Finland and platinum in Germany.


They have released seven full-length albums to date, the latest, Screamworks: Love in Theory and Practice, released in February, 2010.


This year, HIM will be celebrating their 20 years together by releasing a compilation album XX-Two Decades of Love Metal, the first compilation by the band covering their entire career plus the addition of a cover song “Strange World” – their first new material since 2010.


In September 2012 the band started recording a new studio album for winter
2013 release, tentatively titled Tears on Tape.